Just me... (vodou_chile) wrote in bio_muscle,
Just me...

  • Mood:

Audi diesel dominates Le Mans

Posted Jun 18th 2006 8:35PM by Stuart Waterman

Mission accomplished. The #8 Audi R10 of Frank Biela, Emanuele Pirro and Marco Werner fulfilled Audi's ambition of fielding the first non-gasoline-powered winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans. In the process the trio set a record for the distance travelled by the winning car, narrowly beating the previous record set by an Audi R8. Despite a lengthy pit stop to replace the faulty fuel injection system, the pole-sitting #7 Audi of Kristensen, Capello and McNish managed a third-place finish in LMP1. The two Audi's bracketed the local fan-favorite Pescarolo team, whose C60 Judd-powered entry driven by Eric Helary, F1 driver Franck Montagny and WRC legend Sebastien Loeb trailed the winning Audi by four laps.

  • Post a new comment


    default userpic
    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 1 comment